Latest Updates * *** Bijoy Krishna Girls' College deeply mourns the tragic death of Bravehearts of Pulwama, 2019 ********Online Application for Admission to B.Ed Course 2019-21 is going on.*****

Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah

Estd : 1st August 1947. Affilliated to University of Calcutta

NCTE approved NAAC B accredited College with CPE status

Department of Psychology

Teachers Profile

Sujata Chatterjee

Associate Professor & Head of the Dept of Psychology


View Faculty Facts

Dr. Debleena Kumar

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Psychology

M.Sc., Ph.D.

View Faculty Facts

Dr. Sraboni Chatterjee

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Psychology

M.A., Ph.D.

View Faculty Facts



M.Sc, Ph.D.

View Faculty Facts


About the Department 1. History of Dept: - Prof. Bijoy Krishna Bhattacharya was among those visionary academic personalities, who could feel the need of the society for some specific area of knowledge not much popular at that period of time. The outcome of his inspirational idea and progressive thought was the introduction of subject “Psychology” as a main stream, full-fledged Honours faculty in the year 1968. The department started his journey from July, 1968 with Prof. Mrinal Kanti Dutta as a teaching faculty and Sri Murari Das as a non-teaching technical staff. In the same year Dr. Snigdha Mitra joined the department as a full-time teaching faculty. Two additional posts of full-time teachers were sanctioned in 1969 and Prof. Sipra Nandy and Dr. Mitra Bhattecharrya started their career in the respective posts. Within a short period, the department earned the fame of quality teaching such a rare subject in district level and the state level as well. Dr. Indrani Mukherjee joined the post as a lecturer and continued up to one year. As Dr. Mukherjee left this department for Applied Psychology, Calcutta University, Dr. Mallika Banerjee filled up the post from the then panel of College Service Commission. Dr. Banerjee served this department for almost two years and left for the Department of Psychology, Calcutta University. Prof. Sujata Chatterjee joined the department from the same panel of College Service Commission September, 1986. Two posts of Graduate Laboratory Instructor (GLI) were created through UGC affiliation in 1985, wherein, Smt. Jaya Ramnath and Smt. Madhabi Mondal were recruited. In 2002 Dr. Ishita Chatterjee joined as junior lecturer and in 2008 she left for the department of Applied Psychology, Calcutta University. Dr Chandana Aditya was recruited as fulltime Contractual Teacher (CWTT), in a UGC sanctioned post in 2007. In April, 2014 Dr. Sraboni Chatterjee and Dr. Debleena Kumar joined the department as a whole time teachers in substantive posts (UGC). Our department happened to be the well known centre for its academic excellence, regularity of classes and other daily disciplinary activities. The overall maintenance of the department is taken care of by two responsible staff- Sri Tapan Das and Smt. Tustusi Mosha. In addition to it, the department is now equipped with all modern teaching tools and techniques…i.e. computers with teaching learning software items, projectors, internet facilities with WIFI connections, laptop etc (UGC and other grants). There is a seminar library, rich with contemporary books (texts and references) and journals. Manual tests and apparatus for regular classroom practical are sufficient in numbers. Maintenance of these apparatus and instruments are done in regular basis. The students after graduating from this department have achieved their desired goals in academics, scientific research, corporate and IT Sectors, and many other dynamic fields like entertainments and self entrepreneurships. The University results are encouraging every year. Failure rate is almost insignificant. We always work together with the motto ‘work today for better tomorrow’. 2. Mission & Vision: - i) Our mission is to make the classes truly interactive and student-centric to the extent possible, the number of students in the class should be more manageable on the one hand and the regularity of attendance ought to be made mandatory on the others, otherwise the yardstick to judge student accomplishment will solely repose on the end – term results and internal assessments, which, given the predictability of university question and the stress on the rote learning, really does not count for much. ii) Our vision is to make learning a continuous process and an enjoyable experience. The department, with its limited autonomy, cannot drastically turn things around, but it can experiment with more student – centric learning. Achievements:- Mental Health Camp on "Wellness in Daily Life" was organized by Dept. of Psychology and IQAC, Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah on 27th November, 2017 and the speaker was Dr. Pritha Mukhopadhyay, Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Calcutta A one day workshop on Choice Based Credit System (CBCS)-Teaching Learning Programme of Psychology was organized by Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah, Dept. of Psychology and IQAC under UGC-CPE on 6th December 2017 World Mental Health Day was celebrated by Dept. of Psychology and IQAC, Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah on 10th October, 2018 and the speaker was Dr. Anuttama Banerjee, Clinical Psychologist and Academic Mentor and the theme of the programme was “Mobile Phone and related dependence, hazards and Remedy” Notable Alumni:- Serial No Name Working at Madhabi Maondal Dept of Psychology, BKGC as GLI 2. Jaya Ramnath Dept of Psychology, BKGC as GLI 3. Papri Chatterjee School teacher at Howrah Girls School. 4. Neelanwita Das School Teacher. 5. Bibi Dutta Roy Teacher at Baranagar Girls High School. 6. Rama Mallick Counselor at Indian Institute of Psychometry 7. Kakali Choudhuri Teacher at Bethune School 8. Sritama Mitra Guest Lecturer at BGCH 9. Sikta Das Self- entrepreneur. 10. Dr. Jhuma Mukherjee Lecturer in Asutosh College 11. Dr. Rimjhim Ray Lecturer at Jaipuria College 12. Mousumi Bhattachrya Lecturer at Bangabasi College 13. Ishita Chatterjee Lecturer at Vivekananda College for Women 14. Nabanita Banerjee Lecturer at Vidyasagar College 15. Jayatri Sarkar Teacher at Krishnabhamini School 16. Dr. Matangini Samanta Uhsangini Girls High School 17. Monita Mukherjee Ground Staff in Indigo Airlines 18. Sreyashee Banerjee Staff in Vodafone 19. Subhomita Banerjee Model by profession 20. Anjana Basu Model and Actor by Profession 21. Sonali Choudhury Counsellor at Rubi General Hospital Departmental Infrastructure: - The department is furnished with two well equipped laboratories and three class-rooms. Beside this, one desktop, one laptop and one printer along with ICT facilities and internet connectivity (WI-FI) are also available within the department for the benefit of the students and faculties. Future Plan:- Introduce different kinds of incentives to increase the amount of library usage among the students Increase more number of books and instruments as Choice-Based Credit System will be introduced in the forthcoming academic session 2018-19 Extension activities like lectures, student’s seminar, micro-teaching will be introduced more for the academic progression and benefit of our students

E Module





Department Notice