Latest Updates *Online application process for admission for the session 2020-21 would commence on and from 10 th August 2020.

Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah

Estd : 1st August 1947. Affilliated to University of Calcutta

NCTE approved NAAC B accredited College with CPE status

Department of Philosophy

Teachers Profile

Dr. Kalyani Sarkar

Associate Professor, Dept of Philosophy

M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D.

View Faculty Facts

Dr. Chaitali Mitra Chowdhury

Associate Professor, Dept of Philosophy

M.A., Ph. D.

View Faculty Facts

Dr. Sweta Guha

Associate Professor, Dept of Philosophy

M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D.

View Faculty Facts

Jhuma Paul

Assistant Professor & Head of the Dept


View Faculty Facts

Dr. Shyamali Banerjee


M.A., Ph.D

View Faculty Facts

Arpita Basu



View Faculty Facts

Mou Bhattacharyya



View Faculty Facts


  1. History of Department

The Department of Philosophy, Bijoy Krishna Girls’ College, Howrah was established in1949 and as demand increased honors course started in1956. The Department follows the syllabus of University of Calcutta, West Bengal. We take the pride to state that our Post-Graduate course is running successfully under the coordinator, Dr.Kalyani Sarkar.

  1. Achievements

Our aim is to transform lives of our students through education, experience, support and inspiration. Many well known distinguished scholars from different universities have been associated with the department in different activities like Prof. Subir Ranjan Bhattacharyya, Prof Dilip Mohanti, Prof Gopal Khan, Prof. Sharmistha Bakshi, Prof. Ashim Chaudhuri, Prof. Abhik Bandyopadhyay, Prof. Priyambada Sarkar, Prof Shyamasree Bhattacharyya. From NewZealand, distinguished scholar and Philosopher, Prof. J.L. Shaw delivered lecture in the international seminar, organized by the department.

The department every year celebrates World Philosophy Day and organizes extension lecture by eminent scholars for the enrichment of students. Students’ seminar, micro-teaching, debate and wall magazine are regularly organized. Our students make us proud by their excellent result in higher education - Rama Mal, Sangita Das, Paulomi Chakraborty, Rajasri Kundu to name a few.

The faculty members of the department have specialization in Indian and Western Philosophy, Ethics and Feminist Philosophy.  Their area of interest is well expressed in teaching and guiding students.

  1. Intake Capacity:

PG : 30

UG: 64

  1. Mission & Vision

Philosophy aims at critical evaluation of our belief, knowledge and attitude. We foster personal and professional success through the development of critical thinking, effective communication, and creativity. Our mission is to enable students to grow, thrive and prosper. We are dedicated to provide opportunities and support for them from diverse backgrounds.

Philosophy examines the relationship between individual and society. It enhances our ability to solve problems and persuasive powers. As Philosophy touches many subjects, it can be applied in any endeavor. Those who study Philosophy have skill necessary for academic and nonacademic jobs. We assist students to become well-informed global citizens with the capacity to negotiate in a rapidly changing and complex world. We support the career and personal development of our students with an effective, supportive, safe and affordable learning environment using modern technology.

5.  Notable Alumni

1.Smt Namita Mitra ,Ex-Prof, Dept of Philosophy, BijoyKrishns Girls’ College, Howrah

2.Smt. Jharna Mukherjee, Do

3. Smt. Pratima Champati, Do

4. Dr. Shyamali Banerjee, GAPPT, Dept of Philosophy, Bijoy Krishna Girls’ College, Howrah

5.  Smt. Arpita Basu, Do

6. Smt. Mou Bhattacharyya, Guest Lecturer, Dept of Philosophy, Bijoy Krishna Girls’ College, Howrah

7. Sweta Biswas, Teacher, Sudhir Memorial school

8. Sayantani Chakraborty, Radio Artiste and Teacher

9. Tulika Mondol, Employee of Koda Automobile

10. Sancharini Roy ,  Doing editing at Splant

 11. Annesha Das, Playback Singer of Bengali Film Padmar Prem, Director, Ashok Das

  1. Mahua Chatterjee, Sr. Purchase Executive, Mission of Mercy Hospital
  2. Riya Panja, JRF, IIT Mumbai

6. Faculty Members

  1. Dr. Kalyani Sarkar, Associate Professsor
  2. Dr. Chaitali Choudhury, Associate Professor
  3. Dr. Sweta Guha, Associate Professor
  4. Jhuma Paul, Assistant Professor
  5. Dr. Shyamali Banerjee, GAPPT
  6. Arpita Basu, GAPPT
  7. Sayantani Mukherjee, CCTT
  8. Mou Banerjee, Guest Lecturer

The department has rich library and ICT facilities.

7. Future Plan

1) Interdisciplinary approach to learning

2) Incorporate research into learning curricula and courses

3) To introduce Centre for Value Education

4) To form Women Study Centre





E Module





Department Notice