Latest Updates *The DBT STAR COLLEGE SCHEME is a scheme of Department of Biotechnology, Government of India. Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah has received the prestigious DBT STAR COLLEGE SCHEME grant for five science departments, namely, Chemistry Mathematics Microbiology Physics and  Zoology

Bijoy Krishna Girls' College, Howrah

Estd : 1st August 1947. Affilliated to University of Calcutta

NCTE approved NAAC B++ (3rd Cycle) accredited College with CPE status

DBT Star College

(ISO 9001 : 2015 Certified)

Philosophy of PG Department




HOWRAH – 711 101.



  1. Name of the Department : Philosophy

  2. Seat Capacity : 30 (Total)

  3. Members of Former BOS :

Following respected teachers, as nominated by the CU, are members of former BOS :

Prof. Subir Ranjan Bhattacharya, CU (Retd.)

Prof. Dilip Mohanta, (CU)

Prof. Krishna Chatterjee  (HOD, CU)

Prof. Rupa Bandhopadhyay (JU)

Prof. Kuntala Banerjee  (RBU)

Prof. Gopal Khan (BU).

  1. Esteemed Guest Faculty :

Prof. Subir Ranjan Bhattacharya, CU

Prof. Avik Banerjee, Scottish Church College

Prof. Jyoti Prasad Bhattacharya, JU

Prof. Asim Choudhury, Belur Ramakrishna Mission Bidyamandira

  1. Departmental faculty :

Dr Kalyani Sarkar

Dr Chaitali Choudhury

Dr Sweta Guha

Smt. Jhuma Paul

Dr Shyamali Banerjee

Smt Arpita Basu

Smt Mou Banerjee

  1. Achievments of students :

First batch : 2015-17 – One student secured First Class & rest three students secured more than 50%.

Second batch : 2016-18 – Two students secured First Class, four students secured more than 50% & rest two above 45%.

Third batch : 2017-19 – Two students, both secured First Class.

Fourth batch : 2018-20 – Two students secured First Class in Final Semester but both got back in 3rd Semester DSC.

Fifth batch : 2019-21 - One student - continuing.

Sixth batch : 2020-22 – Eight students have been admitted and classes started.